Start a check

Uxbridge sign by‑law: what’s allowed

Sign By-law 2002-59, consolidated version, no consolidation date printed; the latest amendment visible is By-law 2010-052. What the published by-law allows, how big, whether a sign can be lit, what it costs, and which copy of the by-law to trust.

We calculate sizesverified 2026-09Stale copy liveUpdated 23 September 2026 →

What we hold: we calculate the size and count limits, so a check here gives you a number · lighting and digital rules read in full · fees and timelines from the published schedule.

Lake Ontario Uxbridge
Approximate location

Check a specific address in Uxbridge

Two questions, no dimensions needed. You get the maximum for your sign type, the lighting rules, the fee and the sections it all came from.

Start a check →
What the by-law allows in Uxbridge
Sign typeHereMost you’d getThe rule
On the building
Fascia, wall sign, channel letters
Depends on districts.8.1(i) — 1.0 m² (11 sq ft) per linear horizontal metre of wall, to a maximum of 5.0 m² (54 sq ft) per business premises; 0.5 m (1 ft 8 in) projection read it ↗
Freestanding
Pylon or monument out front
Depends on districts.8.2 and s.6.3 — 8.0 m² (86 sq ft), 8.0 m (26 ft) tall, no face dimension over 4.0 m (13 ft) read it ↗
Projecting
Blade sign off the wall
Depends on districtDepends on the sign district. Start a check and pick the district to get the figure.
Small directional
Entrance or drive-aisle sign
Depends on districtUsually falls under the ground sign rules unless the by-law carves out directional signs — s.8.2 and s.6.3 — 8.0 m² (86 sq ft), 8.0 m (26 ft) tall, no face dimension over 4.0 m (13 ft) read it ↗
New face, same frame
Replacing the face of a sign already there
UnresolvedA face replacement may be a copy change, maintenance or an alteration under the applicable by-law. Confirm the existing sign’s lawful status and whether changes to its face, structure, area or illumination require a permit. A permit exemption does not establish permission to install.
Window signs & graphics
Lettering, decals and signs behind glass
Review neededWindow-sign calculations are not yet verified for this municipality and category. Confirm classification, coverage, placement and permit requirements with the municipality.
Temporary promotional
Banners, mobile signs and short-term promotions
Review guidance onlyReview guidance only. No size limit, fee, exemption or permitted display period has been validated for this category. Confirm the exact sign format, location, display period and any renewal or repeat-display limits. Temporary use does not itself establish a permit exemption.
Construction & development
Development marketing, builder signs and hoarding
Review guidance onlyReview guidance only. No size limit, fee, exemption or permitted display period has been validated for this category. Confirm whether this is development advertising, builder identification, hoarding graphics or a required notice. Provide the project stage, proposed copy and location; these purposes may follow different requirements.
Real estate
For sale, for lease and open-house signs
Review guidance onlyReview guidance only. No size limit, fee, exemption or permitted display period has been validated for this category. Confirm the property use, whether the sign is at the listed property or off-site, and the applicable removal deadline. New-development marketing may be classified separately from an ordinary sale or lease sign.
Event signage
Commercial, community and private events
Review guidance onlyReview guidance only. No size limit, fee, exemption or permitted display period has been validated for this category. Confirm the organizer, commercial content, sign format, location and display dates. Community events, private celebrations and election signs may follow separate rules; an event permit does not establish permission for every sign.

“Up to” means we have the rule but not your dimensions — start a check and enter them to get your actual numbers. “Rule on file” means we have read the section and can take you to it, but have not turned it into a calculation — so no number, on purpose. “Depends on district” means we do calculate it, but the figure changes with the sign district, so pick one to see it.

Can you light it?Yes, with conditions

Yes, with conditions

Subject to shielding and district-specific lighting restrictions. s.6.8 requires shielding of light sources. Check s.4.1 for restrictions and exceptions relating to flashing or moving illumination and moving parts. District and sign-type provisions must also be reviewed.

BrightnessNo numeric limit in this by-law
No cap means no safe harbour either — the City can still object to a sign as a nuisance.
Hours it must be off or dimmedNone stated.
Lighting methodWithin the Special Sign District, s.5.2.1(e) restricts external illumination to gooseneck lamps, traditional hooded spotlights, lighting recessed in an architectural feature, or lighting concealed in relief lettering. Confirm whether the proposed fixture fits a listed method. This district provision does not establish a Township-wide up-lighting ban or permission.
Near housingNone stated.

Worth knowing before you design it

s.6.8 requires shielding so the light source is not visible off the property. Meeting that condition does not establish compliance with every lighting or sign requirement; the Special Sign District’s permitted methods and other applicable provisions still need review.

Read this first. The downtown rules and the Township-wide rules point in opposite directions. Outside the Special Sign District an electronic message centre is named as an exception in s.4.1 — though read literally the exception attaches only to the moving-parts limb, not the flashing-illumination limb, so get the Township’s reading — and it is given no conditions at all — no hold time, no transition rule, no dimming, no separation from housing. Inside the District internally illuminated signs, readographs (except a permanent readograph for a religious institution or cinema, s.5.6) and mobile signs are banned outright, along with video displays, strobe and neon, and anything that spins or rotates. Reading only the general section gets this exactly backwards.

You said this one has no digital or changing message, so we have left those rules out. If that changes, they are in s.1.3; s.4.1; s.5.5; s.5.7.

Read it yourself: s.6.8; s.4.1; s.5.2.1(e) of Sign By-law 2002-59, consolidated version ↗

What it costs and how long5 to budget

Permit fee

Our figure is out of date, so we are not showing it (fee checked Jan 2025 — most cities raise fees each January, so this one is out of date). Confirm the current rate with the City before you rely on a number.

About the fee

$200 for a permanent sign and $93 for a temporary sign on the Township’s permit fees page, which prints no year. The by-law itself still prints a $75.00 basic minimum fee (s.2.2(e)).

How long the City takes

No verified processing target is recorded here for Uxbridge. Ask the sign-permit office which review stream applies, when its clock starts, and whether other approvals are prerequisites.

If it needs a variance

Our fee figure is out of date, so we are not showing it (last verified Jan 2025 — over a year ago). Decided by Not stated. The by-law charges a fee for an exemption (s.2.2(e)(iii)) but sets no procedure. Separately, downtown sign permit applications go to Heritage Uxbridge for review and comment, and Council gives final approval of any downtown sign Heritage Uxbridge has not approved (s.5.2.1, s.5.2.2). No appeal route is stated in the by-law — ask the municipality whether there is one. Confirm the current fee with the municipality.

Professional design and construction review — Professional design/review not resolved

The entered details do not establish whether professional design or construction review is required. The 2024 Ontario Building Code Compendium, Division C, Articles 1.2.1.2.(6)–(7) and 1.2.2.1.(8)–(9), distinguishes design from construction review and permits an architect, professional engineer or both for these sign provisions. Confirm the applicable Code edition, sign classification, each face area, total weight, height and mounting with the municipal building-permit office. Being below a listed threshold does not clear other structural or local requirements. Official Code source: https://www.publications.gov.on.ca/store/20170501121/Free_Download_Files/301880.pdf

The by-law itself
The governing document

Sign By-law 2002-59, consolidated version

2002-59 · No consolidation date printed; the latest amendment visible is By-law 2010-052 · PDF, 14 pages

A consolidation is the by-law’s text with its later amendments folded in; the date says how current that copy is.

Open the by-law ↗
The by-law’s fees and the Township’s fee page disagree The by-law and the Township’s permit fees page disagree. The by-law prints a $200.00 administration fee for a variance and a $75.00 basic minimum permit fee (s.2.2(e)); the fees page gives $313 for a variance and $93 (temporary) or $200 (permanent) for a permit, with no year printed.
Read this before you read the by-law. The document carries no consolidation date and the most recent amendment we can see referenced in it is By-law 2010-052, so treat it as old. Schedule A, the map that decides whether you are in the Special Sign District, is an image we could not read — and the District is where the real restrictions are.

Straight to the sections the numbers above come from:

What you wantWhere it is
Wall signss.8.1(i) — 1.0 m² (11 sq ft) per linear horizontal metre of wall, to a maximum of 5.0 m² (54 sq ft) per business premises; 0.5 m (1 ft 8 in) projectionopen ↗
Ground signss.8.2 and s.6.3 — 8.0 m² (86 sq ft), 8.0 m (26 ft) tall, no face dimension over 4.0 m (13 ft)open ↗
Variances.2.2(e)(iii) — there is no procedure, only a fee; who decides is not stated.open ↗
StructureNone. The words engineer, wind load and Building Code do not appear in this by-law; s.2.2(a) says which signs need a permitopen · p.3 ↗

Page jumps are close, not exact — a cover sheet or table of contents can shift a PDF by a page or two. The section number is the reliable part.

Also worth having open:

Where these numbers came from
By-law textverified Sep 2026 · by-law text · 2 separate checks
⚠ No consolidation date is printed and the latest amendment referenced inside the document is from 2010.
Size and count rulesverified Sep 2026 · by-law text · 2 separate checks
Sections 6, 7, 8 and Schedule C read again on 25 September 2026 from the page images; counts (s.6.1), the rural aggregate and the institutional identification sign added, every figure matching the text-layer reading.
Permit feesfee checked Jan 2025 — most cities raise fees each January, so this one is out of date · municipal permit page · checked once
⚠ Three sign variance fees and two base permit fees are simultaneously live across the Township’s own by-law, sign page and fee table. The fee by-law that would settle it is published as a scan with no text layer.
Variance costlast verified Jan 2025 — over a year ago · municipal permit page · checked once
The by-law’s own words60 figures

Each figure above, in the by-law’s own words. Every quote was checked against the published document, and is re-checked whenever the document is re-read; a figure without one is not published.

Where each rule sits in the by-law

Structure
“2.2 Permits a) Permits are required to erect signs under Sub-Sections 3.6, 3.10 and all of Sections 5, 7, 8 and 9.”
What this means for your sign

Structure: None. The words engineer, wind load and Building Code do not appear in this by-law; s.2.2(a) says which signs need a permit

Rules for every sign

note
“5.5 No mobile, readograph or internally illuminated sign shall be placed, erected, installed or displayed in the Special Sign District.”
What this means for your sign

Downtown is where this by-law bites hardest: internally illuminated signs, readographs and mobile signs are banned in the Special Sign District (except a permanent readograph for a religious institution or cinema showing service or programme times, s.5.6), as are video displays and anything that spins or rotates. Outside the District an electronic message centre is named as an exception in s.4.1 — read literally, only from the moving-parts limb, not from the flashing-illumination limb — and is given no operating conditions at all — no hold time, no dimming, no separation. The downtown rules and the Township-wide rules point in opposite directions.

note
“5.6 Notwithstanding Section 5.5, a permanent readograph sign shall be permitted for religious institutions and cinemas located in the Special Sign District for the purpose of identifying times of services and/or programs at that location.”
What this means for your sign

Downtown is where this by-law bites hardest: internally illuminated signs, readographs and mobile signs are banned in the Special Sign District (except a permanent readograph for a religious institution or cinema showing service or programme times, s.5.6), as are video displays and anything that spins or rotates. Outside the District an electronic message centre is named as an exception in s.4.1 — read literally, only from the moving-parts limb, not from the flashing-illumination limb — and is given no operating conditions at all — no hold time, no dimming, no separation. The downtown rules and the Township-wide rules point in opposite directions.

note
“5.7 No strobe or neon lighting displays shall be placed, erected, installed or displayed in the Special Sign District and this would include flashing or animated signs, video display signs, video billboards or any sign that spins or rotates.”
What this means for your sign

Downtown is where this by-law bites hardest: internally illuminated signs, readographs and mobile signs are banned in the Special Sign District (except a permanent readograph for a religious institution or cinema showing service or programme times, s.5.6), as are video displays and anything that spins or rotates. Outside the District an electronic message centre is named as an exception in s.4.1 — read literally, only from the moving-parts limb, not from the flashing-illumination limb — and is given no operating conditions at all — no hold time, no dimming, no separation. The downtown rules and the Township-wide rules point in opposite directions.

note
“4.1 Signs which incorporate in any manner any flashing or moving illumination which varies in intensity, or which varies in colour; and signs which have any visible moving parts, with the exception of signs which indicate time or temperature, or an electronic message centre.”
What this means for your sign

Downtown is where this by-law bites hardest: internally illuminated signs, readographs and mobile signs are banned in the Special Sign District (except a permanent readograph for a religious institution or cinema showing service or programme times, s.5.6), as are video displays and anything that spins or rotates. Outside the District an electronic message centre is named as an exception in s.4.1 — read literally, only from the moving-parts limb, not from the flashing-illumination limb — and is given no operating conditions at all — no hold time, no dimming, no separation. The downtown rules and the Township-wide rules point in opposite directions.

Commercial, industrial or community facility · Wall sign

maximum area
“Notwithstanding the foregoing, the total area of a wall sign per business premises shall not exceed 5.0 square metres.”
What this means for your sign

The wall sign allowance tops out at 5 m² (54 sq ft), however big the building or lot.

number, number, note
“Except as may otherwise be provided in this by-law no more than one sign may be erected or maintained on any premises at any one time except that where a premises is located on a comer or through lot or has entrances on two (2) or more streets, or has both a front and rear public entrance, one (1) additional sign may be erected adjacent to the second entrance. A Corporate logo, integral to a sign shall not be regarded as an additional sign. Window signs shall not be included in the number of signs, but shall in no case cover more than 30% of the total window area.”
What this means for your sign

One wall sign per premises.

No more than one sign per premises at any one time, with one additional sign at a second entrance where the premises is on a corner or through lot, has entrances on two or more streets, or has both a front and rear public entrance; a corporate logo integral to a sign is not an additional sign, and window signs are not counted (s.6.1). In a multiple occupancy building or shopping centre the wall-sign area is allocated proportionally to each premises with direct access to a public way, and a directory sign of up to 1.0 m² (11 sq ft) is allowed at first-floor level for the businesses without one (s.8.1(i), (ii)).

number, note
“In multiple occupancy buildings or shopping centres there shall be a proportional allocation of sign area for each business premises having direct access to a public way.”
What this means for your sign

No more than one sign per premises at any one time, with one additional sign at a second entrance where the premises is on a corner or through lot, has entrances on two or more streets, or has both a front and rear public entrance; a corporate logo integral to a sign is not an additional sign, and window signs are not counted (s.6.1). In a multiple occupancy building or shopping centre the wall-sign area is allocated proportionally to each premises with direct access to a public way, and a directory sign of up to 1.0 m² (11 sq ft) is allowed at first-floor level for the businesses without one (s.8.1(i), (ii)).

number, note
“(ii) In a multiple occupancy building, a directory sign will be permitted at first floor level, listing names of businesses not having direct access to a public way. The area of such sign will not exceed 1.0 square metres.”
What this means for your sign

No more than one sign per premises at any one time, with one additional sign at a second entrance where the premises is on a corner or through lot, has entrances on two or more streets, or has both a front and rear public entrance; a corporate logo integral to a sign is not an additional sign, and window signs are not counted (s.6.1). In a multiple occupancy building or shopping centre the wall-sign area is allocated proportionally to each premises with direct access to a public way, and a directory sign of up to 1.0 m² (11 sq ft) is allowed at first-floor level for the businesses without one (s.8.1(i), (ii)).

area per metre of frontage
“(i) The area of a wall sign shall not exceed 1.0 square metres per linear horizontal metre of the 2011 building wall upon which such sign is located.”
What this means for your sign

You get 1 m² (11 sq ft) of wall sign for every metre (3 ft 3 in) of building wall, per business premises. For example, a storefront 10 m (33 ft) wide with a 4 m (13 ft) tall first storey works out to 5 m² (54 sq ft).

projection from the wall
“(i) No wall sign, or any part thereof, shall project more than 0.5 metres from the wall upon which it is mounted.”
What this means for your sign

It can stick out no more than 0.5 m (1 ft 8 in) from the wall.

placement
“(iii) Wall signs shall only be located at the level having direct access to a public way except that where a premises occupies more than one floor, the wall sign may be located above the level having direct access to a public way.”
What this means for your sign

the level with direct access to a public way, unless the premises occupies more than one floor

Commercial, industrial or community facility · Ground sign

maximum area
“8.2 Ground Signs No ground sign shall be larger than 8.0 square metres in area.”
What this means for your sign

The ground sign allowance tops out at 8 m² (86 sq ft), however big the building or lot. For example, a lot with 30 m (98 ft) of street frontage works out to 8 m² (86 sq ft).

number, number, note
“Except as may otherwise be provided in this by-law no more than one sign may be erected or maintained on any premises at any one time except that where a premises is located on a comer or through lot or has entrances on two (2) or more streets, or has both a front and rear public entrance, one (1) additional sign may be erected adjacent to the second entrance. A Corporate logo, integral to a sign shall not be regarded as an additional sign. Window signs shall not be included in the number of signs, but shall in no case cover more than 30% of the total window area.”
What this means for your sign

One ground sign per premises.

The one-sign-per-premises rule in s.6.1 counts every sign type together: a ground sign and a wall sign on the same premises is two signs, allowed only where the premises has a second entrance on another street or a rear public entrance.

height, setback, minimum, setback as a share of height, setback
“(ii) No ground sign shall exceed 4.0 metres in any dimension of the sign face. (iii) No ground sign shall exceed a maximum height of8.0 meters from the finished grade level at the base of the said sign. (v) No ground sign shall be located at a distance from the common lot boundary or street line less than 2.0 metres or a distance equal to the height of the sign whichever is greater.”
What this means for your sign

The ground sign can be no taller than 8 m (26 ft).

It must stand back at least 100% of its own height from the lot line, and never less than 2 m (6 ft 7 in).

the greater of 2.0 m (6 ft 7 in) or the sign’s own height from a lot boundary or street line · 10 m (33 ft) from a traffic light · no face dimension over 4.0 m (13 ft)

setback
“4.10 A ground sign within 10.0 metres of a traffic light.”
What this means for your sign

the greater of 2.0 m (6 ft 7 in) or the sign’s own height from a lot boundary or street line · 10 m (33 ft) from a traffic light · no face dimension over 4.0 m (13 ft)

Commercial, industrial or community facility · Projecting sign

maximum area, placement
“No portion of a projecting sign shall be less than 2.4 metres above the finished grade or floor level immediately below such sign and shall not exceed I.5 square metres in area.”
What this means for your sign

A projecting sign can be no larger than 1.5 m² (16 sq ft).

below the second storey, at least 2.4 m (7 ft 10 in) clear above grade, and not over a public right-of-way (other than a sidewalk), a driveway or adjoining land

placement
“No sign shall project over public rights-of-way (excluding sidewalks) or other adjoining lands or driveways. The sign shall be affixed lower than the second story of a multi-level structure.”
What this means for your sign

below the second storey, at least 2.4 m (7 ft 10 in) clear above grade, and not over a public right-of-way (other than a sidewalk), a driveway or adjoining land

Downtown — the Special Sign District · Wall sign

maximum area, area per metre of frontage
“Wall N/A 0.25 square metres per linear metre of building façade to a maximum of 5 square metres N/A External”
What this means for your sign

The wall sign allowance tops out at 5 m² (54 sq ft), however big the building or lot.

You get 0.25 m² (2.7 sq ft) of wall sign for every metre (3 ft 3 in) of façade. For example, a storefront 10 m (33 ft) wide with a 4 m (13 ft) tall first storey works out to 2.5 m² (27 sq ft).

note
“e) The proposed means of external illumination of any sign, shall be restricted to goose neck lamps, traditional hooded spot lights, lighting recessed in an architectural feature, and/or lighting concealed in relief lettering.”
What this means for your sign

External illumination only, and restricted to a closed list: gooseneck lamps, traditional hooded spots, lighting recessed in an architectural feature, or lighting concealed in relief lettering. Anything else is out by omission.

Downtown — the Special Sign District · Ground sign

maximum area, number, note, height
“SINGLE OCCUPANT N/A 1.5 square metres 2.5 metres External MULTIPLE OCCUPANT N/A 2.0 square metres 2.5 metres External”
What this means for your sign

The ground sign allowance tops out at 2 m² (22 sq ft), however big the building or lot. For example, a lot with 30 m (98 ft) of street frontage works out to 2 m² (22 sq ft).

2.0 m² (22 sq ft) at 2.5 m (8 ft 2 in) for a multiple-occupant property; a single occupant gets 1.5 m² (16 sq ft) at 2.5 m (8 ft 2 in). The one-sign-per-premises rule in s.6.1 applies here too.

The ground sign can be no taller than 2.5 m (8 ft 2 in).

number, number, note
“Except as may otherwise be provided in this by-law no more than one sign may be erected or maintained on any premises at any one time except that where a premises is located on a comer or through lot or has entrances on two (2) or more streets, or has both a front and rear public entrance, one (1) additional sign may be erected adjacent to the second entrance. A Corporate logo, integral to a sign shall not be regarded as an additional sign. Window signs shall not be included in the number of signs, but shall in no case cover more than 30% of the total window area.”
What this means for your sign

One ground sign per premises.

2.0 m² (22 sq ft) at 2.5 m (8 ft 2 in) for a multiple-occupant property; a single occupant gets 1.5 m² (16 sq ft) at 2.5 m (8 ft 2 in). The one-sign-per-premises rule in s.6.1 applies here too.

setback, minimum, setback as a share of height, setback
“(ii) No ground sign shall exceed 4.0 metres in any dimension of the sign face. (iii) No ground sign shall exceed a maximum height of8.0 meters from the finished grade level at the base of the said sign. (v) No ground sign shall be located at a distance from the common lot boundary or street line less than 2.0 metres or a distance equal to the height of the sign whichever is greater.”
What this means for your sign

It must stand back at least 100% of its own height from the lot line, and never less than 2 m (6 ft 7 in).

the greater of 2.0 m (6 ft 7 in) or the sign’s own height · 10 m (33 ft) from a traffic light

setback
“4.10 A ground sign within 10.0 metres of a traffic light.”
What this means for your sign

the greater of 2.0 m (6 ft 7 in) or the sign’s own height · 10 m (33 ft) from a traffic light

Downtown — the Special Sign District · Projecting sign

maximum area, placement
“Projecting N/A 1.5 square metres N/A External”
What this means for your sign

A projecting sign can be no larger than 1.5 m² (16 sq ft).

below the second storey, at least 2.4 m (7 ft 10 in) clear above grade, and not over a public right-of-way (other than a sidewalk) or a driveway; external lighting only

maximum area, placement
“No portion of a projecting sign shall be less than 2.4 metres above the finished grade or floor level immediately below such sign and shall not exceed I.5 square metres in area.”
What this means for your sign

A projecting sign can be no larger than 1.5 m² (16 sq ft).

below the second storey, at least 2.4 m (7 ft 10 in) clear above grade, and not over a public right-of-way (other than a sidewalk) or a driveway; external lighting only

placement
“No sign shall project over public rights-of-way (excluding sidewalks) or other adjoining lands or driveways. The sign shall be affixed lower than the second story of a multi-level structure.”
What this means for your sign

below the second storey, at least 2.4 m (7 ft 10 in) clear above grade, and not over a public right-of-way (other than a sidewalk) or a driveway; external lighting only

Rural or open space zone — a business incidental to the property · Wall sign

maximum area, note
“(iv) Ground and wall signs which are incidental to the use of the property having an aggregate area not exceeding 10.0 square metres. This applies to rural and open space zones only.”
What this means for your sign

The wall sign allowance tops out at 10 m² (108 sq ft), however big the building or lot. For example, a storefront 10 m (33 ft) wide with a 4 m (13 ft) tall first storey works out to 10 m² (108 sq ft).

s.7.1(iv) allows ground and wall signs incidental to the use of the property with an aggregate area of no more than 10.0 m² (108 sq ft), in rural and open space zones only; a residential zone gets none of this. The 10.0 m² (108 sq ft) is shared between every sign on the property, so a ground sign uses up wall-sign allowance.

number
“Except as may otherwise be provided in this by-law no more than one sign may be erected or maintained on any premises at any one time except that where a premises is located on a comer or through lot or has entrances on two (2) or more streets, or has both a front and rear public entrance, one (1) additional sign may be erected adjacent to the second entrance. A Corporate logo, integral to a sign shall not be regarded as an additional sign. Window signs shall not be included in the number of signs, but shall in no case cover more than 30% of the total window area.”
What this means for your sign

One wall sign per premises.

projection from the wall
“(i) No wall sign, or any part thereof, shall project more than 0.5 metres from the wall upon which it is mounted.”
What this means for your sign

It can stick out no more than 0.5 m (1 ft 8 in) from the wall.

Rural or open space zone — a business incidental to the property · Ground sign

maximum area, number, note
“(iv) Ground and wall signs which are incidental to the use of the property having an aggregate area not exceeding 10.0 square metres. This applies to rural and open space zones only.”
What this means for your sign

The ground sign allowance tops out at 10 m² (108 sq ft), however big the building or lot. For example, a lot with 30 m (98 ft) of street frontage works out to 10 m² (108 sq ft).

The 10.0 m² (108 sq ft) is an aggregate across ground and wall signs (s.7.1(iv)). Height and the 4.0 m (13 ft) dimension are the general s.6.3 figures. A recreation area such as a golf course or ski area gets one identification sign of up to 6 m² (65 sq ft) instead (s.7.1(ii)).

number
“Except as may otherwise be provided in this by-law no more than one sign may be erected or maintained on any premises at any one time except that where a premises is located on a comer or through lot or has entrances on two (2) or more streets, or has both a front and rear public entrance, one (1) additional sign may be erected adjacent to the second entrance. A Corporate logo, integral to a sign shall not be regarded as an additional sign. Window signs shall not be included in the number of signs, but shall in no case cover more than 30% of the total window area.”
What this means for your sign

One ground sign per premises.

number, note
“(ii) One identification sign having a maximum area of 6 square metres is permitted for a recreation area (ie golf course, ski area)”
What this means for your sign

The 10.0 m² (108 sq ft) is an aggregate across ground and wall signs (s.7.1(iv)). Height and the 4.0 m (13 ft) dimension are the general s.6.3 figures. A recreation area such as a golf course or ski area gets one identification sign of up to 6 m² (65 sq ft) instead (s.7.1(ii)).

number, note, height, setback, minimum, setback as a share of height, setback
“(ii) No ground sign shall exceed 4.0 metres in any dimension of the sign face. (iii) No ground sign shall exceed a maximum height of8.0 meters from the finished grade level at the base of the said sign. (v) No ground sign shall be located at a distance from the common lot boundary or street line less than 2.0 metres or a distance equal to the height of the sign whichever is greater.”
What this means for your sign

The 10.0 m² (108 sq ft) is an aggregate across ground and wall signs (s.7.1(iv)). Height and the 4.0 m (13 ft) dimension are the general s.6.3 figures. A recreation area such as a golf course or ski area gets one identification sign of up to 6 m² (65 sq ft) instead (s.7.1(ii)).

The ground sign can be no taller than 8 m (26 ft).

It must stand back at least 100% of its own height from the lot line, and never less than 2 m (6 ft 7 in).

the greater of 2.0 m (6 ft 7 in) or the sign’s own height from a lot boundary or street line · 10 m (33 ft) from a traffic light

setback
“4.10 A ground sign within 10.0 metres of a traffic light.”
What this means for your sign

the greater of 2.0 m (6 ft 7 in) or the sign’s own height from a lot boundary or street line · 10 m (33 ft) from a traffic light

Institutional establishment in a residential, rural or open space zone · Wall sign

maximum area, note
“(i) One identification sign, not exceeding 3.0 square metres on the property of an institutional establishment.”
What this means for your sign

The wall sign allowance tops out at 3 m² (32 sq ft), however big the building or lot. For example, a storefront 10 m (33 ft) wide with a 4 m (13 ft) tall first storey works out to 3 m² (32 sq ft).

One identification sign of no more than 3.0 m² (32 sq ft) on the property of an institutional establishment (s.7.1(i)). The by-law does not say whether it is a wall or ground sign, so the same 3.0 m² (32 sq ft) is shown for both.

Institutional establishment in a residential, rural or open space zone · Ground sign

maximum area, number, number, note
“(i) One identification sign, not exceeding 3.0 square metres on the property of an institutional establishment.”
What this means for your sign

The ground sign allowance tops out at 3 m² (32 sq ft), however big the building or lot. For example, a lot with 30 m (98 ft) of street frontage works out to 3 m² (32 sq ft).

One ground sign per property.

One identification sign (s.7.1(i)); height and the 4.0 m (13 ft) dimension are the general s.6.3 figures.

number, note, height, setback, minimum, setback as a share of height, setback
“(ii) No ground sign shall exceed 4.0 metres in any dimension of the sign face. (iii) No ground sign shall exceed a maximum height of8.0 meters from the finished grade level at the base of the said sign. (v) No ground sign shall be located at a distance from the common lot boundary or street line less than 2.0 metres or a distance equal to the height of the sign whichever is greater.”
What this means for your sign

One identification sign (s.7.1(i)); height and the 4.0 m (13 ft) dimension are the general s.6.3 figures.

The ground sign can be no taller than 8 m (26 ft).

It must stand back at least 100% of its own height from the lot line, and never less than 2 m (6 ft 7 in).

the greater of 2.0 m (6 ft 7 in) or the sign’s own height from a lot boundary or street line · 10 m (33 ft) from a traffic light

setback
“4.10 A ground sign within 10.0 metres of a traffic light.”
What this means for your sign

the greater of 2.0 m (6 ft 7 in) or the sign’s own height from a lot boundary or street line · 10 m (33 ft) from a traffic light

Lighting and digital signs

which signs may be digital, read this first
“1.3 ELECTRONIC MESSAGE CENTRE shall mean that part of an illuminated sign which is computer-controlled and which displays information to the public in a pre- arranged time sequence.”
What this means for your sign

Not restricted by carrier type outside the Special Sign District; inside it, only a permanent readograph for a religious institution or cinema (s.5.6)

The downtown rules and the Township-wide rules point in opposite directions. Outside the Special Sign District an electronic message centre is named as an exception in s.4.1 — though read literally the exception attaches only to the moving-parts limb, not the flashing-illumination limb, so get the Township’s reading — and it is given no conditions at all — no hold time, no transition rule, no dimming, no separation from housing. Inside the District internally illuminated signs, readographs (except a permanent readograph for a religious institution or cinema, s.5.6) and mobile signs are banned outright, along with video displays, strobe and neon, and anything that spins or rotates. Reading only the general section gets this exactly backwards.

which signs may be digital, general permission to illuminate, read this first
“4.1 Signs which incorporate in any manner any flashing or moving illumination which varies in intensity, or which varies in colour; and signs which have any visible moving parts, with the exception of signs which indicate time or temperature, or an electronic message centre.”
What this means for your sign

Not restricted by carrier type outside the Special Sign District; inside it, only a permanent readograph for a religious institution or cinema (s.5.6)

s.6.8 requires shielding of light sources. Check s.4.1 for restrictions and exceptions relating to flashing or moving illumination and moving parts. District and sign-type provisions must also be reviewed.

The downtown rules and the Township-wide rules point in opposite directions. Outside the Special Sign District an electronic message centre is named as an exception in s.4.1 — though read literally the exception attaches only to the moving-parts limb, not the flashing-illumination limb, so get the Township’s reading — and it is given no conditions at all — no hold time, no transition rule, no dimming, no separation from housing. Inside the District internally illuminated signs, readographs (except a permanent readograph for a religious institution or cinema, s.5.6) and mobile signs are banned outright, along with video displays, strobe and neon, and anything that spins or rotates. Reading only the general section gets this exactly backwards.

which signs may be digital, read this first
“5.5 No mobile, readograph or internally illuminated sign shall be placed, erected, installed or displayed in the Special Sign District.”
What this means for your sign

Not restricted by carrier type outside the Special Sign District; inside it, only a permanent readograph for a religious institution or cinema (s.5.6)

The downtown rules and the Township-wide rules point in opposite directions. Outside the Special Sign District an electronic message centre is named as an exception in s.4.1 — though read literally the exception attaches only to the moving-parts limb, not the flashing-illumination limb, so get the Township’s reading — and it is given no conditions at all — no hold time, no transition rule, no dimming, no separation from housing. Inside the District internally illuminated signs, readographs (except a permanent readograph for a religious institution or cinema, s.5.6) and mobile signs are banned outright, along with video displays, strobe and neon, and anything that spins or rotates. Reading only the general section gets this exactly backwards.

distance from an intersection
“4.10 A ground sign within 10.0 metres of a traffic light.”
What this means for your sign

A ground sign may not sit within 10 m (33 ft) of a traffic light

general permission to illuminate, worth knowing
“Light sources which illuminate signs shall be shielded so that the light source is not visible off the property on which a sign is located.”
What this means for your sign

s.6.8 requires shielding of light sources. Check s.4.1 for restrictions and exceptions relating to flashing or moving illumination and moving parts. District and sign-type provisions must also be reviewed.

s.6.8 requires shielding so the light source is not visible off the property. Meeting that condition does not establish compliance with every lighting or sign requirement; the Special Sign District’s permitted methods and other applicable provisions still need review.

read this first
“5.7 No strobe or neon lighting displays shall be placed, erected, installed or displayed in the Special Sign District and this would include flashing or animated signs, video display signs, video billboards or any sign that spins or rotates.”
What this means for your sign

The downtown rules and the Township-wide rules point in opposite directions. Outside the Special Sign District an electronic message centre is named as an exception in s.4.1 — though read literally the exception attaches only to the moving-parts limb, not the flashing-illumination limb, so get the Township’s reading — and it is given no conditions at all — no hold time, no transition rule, no dimming, no separation from housing. Inside the District internally illuminated signs, readographs (except a permanent readograph for a religious institution or cinema, s.5.6) and mobile signs are banned outright, along with video displays, strobe and neon, and anything that spins or rotates. Reading only the general section gets this exactly backwards.

lighting method
“e) The proposed means of external illumination of any sign, shall be restricted to goose neck lamps, traditional hooded spot lights, lighting recessed in an architectural feature, and/or lighting concealed in relief lettering.”
What this means for your sign

Within the Special Sign District, s.5.2.1(e) restricts external illumination to gooseneck lamps, traditional hooded spotlights, lighting recessed in an architectural feature, or lighting concealed in relief lettering. Confirm whether the proposed fixture fits a listed method. This district provision does not establish a Township-wide up-lighting ban or permission.

Fees and timelines

who decides a variance
“5.2.1 Each application for a sign permit in the Special Sign District shall be submitted to Heritage Uxbridge for its review and comment”
What this means for your sign

Not stated. The by-law charges a fee for an exemption (s.2.2(e)(iii)) but sets no procedure. Separately, downtown sign permit applications go to Heritage Uxbridge for review and comment, and Council gives final approval of any downtown sign Heritage Uxbridge has not approved (s.5.2.1, s.5.2.2).

who decides a variance
“5.2.2 The Council of the Township of Uxbridge shall grant final approval of all signs within the Special Sign District that have not been approved by Heritage Uxbridge prior to the issuance of a permit.”
What this means for your sign

Not stated. The by-law charges a fee for an exemption (s.2.2(e)(iii)) but sets no procedure. Separately, downtown sign permit applications go to Heritage Uxbridge for review and comment, and Council gives final approval of any downtown sign Heritage Uxbridge has not approved (s.5.2.1, s.5.2.2).

who decides a variance, note, variance fee, third-party
“(i) Basic minimum fee: $75.00 (ii) Signs erected prior to the issuance of a required permit shall be subject to double the applicable fee. (iii) Sign requiring an exemption from the provisions of this by-law shall be subject to an administration fee of$200.00 per review.”
What this means for your sign

Not stated. The by-law charges a fee for an exemption (s.2.2(e)(iii)) but sets no procedure. Separately, downtown sign permit applications go to Heritage Uxbridge for review and comment, and Council gives final approval of any downtown sign Heritage Uxbridge has not approved (s.5.2.1, s.5.2.2).

$200 for a permanent sign and $93 for a temporary sign on the Township’s permit fees page, which prints no year. The by-law itself still prints a $75.00 basic minimum fee (s.2.2(e)).

The by-law still prints a $200.00 administration fee per review (s.2.2(e)(iii)); the Township’s permit fees page gives $313. We show the fee page. Confirm before you quote.

flat fee, note, variance fee
“Sign Permit – temporary (30 days or less) $93 each Sign Permit – permanent (longer than 30 days) $200 Sign Variance $313”
What this means for your sign

The permit is a flat $200.

$200 for a permanent sign and $93 for a temporary sign on the Township’s permit fees page, which prints no year. The by-law itself still prints a $75.00 basic minimum fee (s.2.2(e)).

Asking for a variance (permission to go beyond the by-law) costs $313.

variance fee, third-party
“Sign Permit – temporary (30 days or less) $93 each Sign Permit – permanent (longer than 30 days) $200 Sign Variance $313”
What this means for your sign

The by-law still prints a $200.00 administration fee per review (s.2.2(e)(iii)); the Township’s permit fees page gives $313. We show the fee page. Confirm before you quote.

Which cities we can answer for 29 cities

We calculate your maximum

28

The size and count rules are in, so you get a number rather than a reading list.

We can point you to the by-law, not the numbers

1

We hold the reference and the contacts. We would rather say that than guess.

Don’t see your city? Tell us which one you need — we add the ones people actually ask for.